Daily Archives: November 1, 2009

Getting Away With Murder by @sarajunior

They say that chivalry is dead. Well that’s what happens when you murder something – it dies. How could I say that? Because someone, my dear lady, needs to say it. I say ‘dear lady’ because I hold you responsible for this gruesome act. This despicable display of innocence need not go on any longer. What are my grounds you ask? Here are the facts: you killed chivalry the moment you let that stranger creep into our life and ruin everything. I sat miles away with my hands in my pockets, waiting. And you let him in and you ruined our life.

It is not as if one act killed this thing, this… chivalry. I could bear that pain in itself without losing hope. No, it was that you slowly, slowly, slowly, let him tip toe in. Over months he had the time to formulate the perfect plan to defeat me and he didn’t even know I existed. I sat on the edge of the world waiting, while you stood on the mountains announcing my inadequacy. And I am supposed to be fine with this according to you.

Well you will not get off that easy, my dear lady. Especially since you started this… this you and me stuff. You are to blame for this murder of decency and common courtesy. And you will pay. For you see, because you chose to let him creep his way in, he will continue to prevail in your life. He’ll convince you this is right and this is what honour is. He’ll make you feel good if only for a moment. He’ll give you exactly what you’d expect and then he’ll leave you. Like you left me sitting here on this edge. And I’ll be the first to tell you that he won’t come back.

This is where you will realize what I have been trying to convey: because you let the thief win, the honourable one loses. Morality has been proven futile. I can love you from far away and in all the right ways. I can be there for you exactly when you need it and everyone else walks away. I can fill some lonely void you contain within you, but you will let him win. In the end, what has it taught me? That it doesn’t pay to be the good person. You crave the bad. You crave deceit and temporary satisfaction.

And so chivalry loses.
I lose for being good.
Morality loses.
I end up alone.
You chase that asshole all over the place.
And he’ll still rob you.

So this is my resignation. I will no longer chose to be the good amoungst the bad because, as you’ve proven, that won’t get me anywhere but loneliness. I must creep into someone else’s life to get what I want. I shall become the thief. I shall assist in killing off this chivalry they claim is already dead.